Monday, December 15, 2008

The enemy?

Comfort feels good. Comfort is familiar. Comfort... is the enemy? We strive to grow so that we may one day be comfortable right? Yet, comfort can easily stunt our growth.

How many people do you know who are at a job that they pretty much hate? How many of those same people complain at least once a week about how they need to find a new one? Of those, how many actually do it? I myself am a victim of this. I can't count the number of e-mails from myself to myself that say "THIS IS THE ONE" or "JOB" or "GET OUT APPLY TO THIS". All of these subject lines seem pretty urgent yet they are still sitting in my inbox as unread messages. What is it that makes us comfortable? For different people, its different things...maybe the health care is really good, maybe your commute is awesome, maybe you're set in your routine and don't really want to get out of it. Perhaps your boss is pretty cool and you're afraid of who you might get next (especially when you trade boss stories with your friends...there are some crazy folks out there). Maybe you think that after this, you will be your own boss. If that's the case though, you must seriously evaluate that statement and make sure that you are actually working towards that goal (and not just telling yourself that as you watch the Giants game and surf MySpace).

How many people are in relationships just because. Maybe this was their high school or college boyfriend/girlfriend and so the partner is just always there...kinda like your favorite slippers that you just won't throw out no matter how holey or dirty they are. Maybe you're afraid that no one will get you the way this person gets you or that you won't find anyone better and then you're doomed to a lifetime of loneliness. True, stepping out of your comfort zone can be scary and painful...but it can also lead to life lessons you may have never learned if you stayed in the warm and fuzzy lap of luxury. Sure, sometimes we meet our match early in life and we stick with it because it works...we don't want to go anywhere else. Sometimes we have to step away and live a little...then we eventually make our way back. But sometimes, sometimes we just stick there and deal with more than we want to or should because we are afraid of the unknown. Sometimes we step out for a moment and realize its just too cold out, so we run right back in. But, if you just stick it out, you find you can adjust to the cold...and somewhere out there you might just get to know yourself better.

Don't get me wrong, comfort can be wonderful...but sometimes we need to be a little uncomfortable to grow.

Family Matters

Sometimes living with family can be wonderful. When you're starving with nothing in your fridge, they have food. When you don't want to break down and purchase a vacuum cleaner or a paper shredder, they have them there to borrow. When you don't want kids of your own but need to fill that motherly void that creeps up on you every now and then, you borrow theirs...then promptly return them. Sometimes living with family can be horrible. When you are wearing five sweaters to sleep because the heat absolutely turns off after the sunsets. When those same kids are taking marathon laps above your bedroom at 8am on a Saturday morning. When your bedroom is a converted garage and this mysterious fuzzy throat feeling won't let up (maybe you should really invest in your own vacuum). When the threat of a rent hike looms around every family feud you might find yourself smack in the middle of. Sure, its great living with family...just tread lightly and be sure to save up for the inevitable eviction.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Ha!

PRock, here's your answer...you either get something you want to look at or you get the f over it and get busy! That whole 'I feel sorry for me' crap is nothing less than destructive. Sure, we all have a weak moment or two when we look around and say 'damn, something is missing'. The reality is what we usually think we're missing is not really the issue. All too often the stir within us for something more usually gets blamed on two things: money and lust. See, usually when we feel unfulfilled we think it must be because we're struggling from pay check to pay check or because we just wish we could afford this or wish we could get that or travel there and live like those that we now watch on our local news. Yes, because celebrities and their relationships (or lack thereof) are now the headlines for our local news. This brings me to relationships or the lust for companionship. See, if we're making decent money and aren't necessarily struggling, then the discomfort we feel is immediately associated with a vacancy of the heart. This feeling we feel has to be because we need a companion...but then you have a companion and you still don't feel content...so then you move on to another or perhaps you decide its time to get to the next level. That next level could either be marriage or simply parenthood. The point is, its a cycle because we continue to chase a ghost. We can't see what it is that gives us this feeling of uneasiness and many of us dont usually dig deep enough because we don't think to or we just don't want to. So, we select one of two things to chase or long for: money and lust.

COLD RAIN

What do you do when its cold and rainy and all you want is something other than a computer or a television to look at? What do you do when you're tired of reading? What do you do when you're too lazy to clean? What do you do when you're trying to leave EVERYONE alone in an effort to make a point, not to others, but to yourself? What do you do when the point you're trying to make seems senseless on a cold, rainy night?

Thursday, December 4, 2008

FINALLY!

The video has finally been uploaded! After hours of uploading on You Tube and Blip TV my first music video was ready to hit My Space. I have officially jumped off the You Tube train and am all about Blip TV. My show is called EditorsLab, but thats just the first...Selfish is on the way!

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

New sites found...

Ok, so its 11:51pm...I kicked myself out of my brothers house and headed back to mine with laptop in hand. I decided to do a search for alternative places for uploading a large filed video. Here is what I came up with:

viddler.com (it hasn't moved in over a half hour...not recommended)
blip.tv (its moving constantly so at least it makes me feel like its working)

Yep, and You Tube is still holding on...41% complete. I'm hitting the sack soon, so tomorrow we will all discover who won this race...actually they should all be done by the morning right? Ugh, I feel defeated and hungry...no wonder I don't have a Britney bod...

You Tube, My Space...all enemies to me tonight!

Wow! I have been home all day...working from home because I woke up this morning feeling like a truck hit me. It was just one of those mornings that you get out of bed and walk straight to your couch and just lay there. I laid there for a few minutes and then remembered that Britney Spears was going to be on Good Morning America. Why did I remember that? Yes, I was (and still am) immediately embarrassed that I knew and was even curious to see Britney Spears on GMA. I'm not sure if it was the fact that I'm not a fan or that I was just feeling ill, but I could only stand to watch one performance...can't even remember the name of the song. I did stick around long enough to notice a few things. One, she's back in shape (damn I don't even have kids and I don't look that good). Two, although I haven't seen her perform in awhile, I feel like I've seen that outfit on her before...perhaps it was because she was wearing a "top" (I call it a bra with sleeves) that showed her whole torso coupled with a pair of those "rubber" pants (how the hell did these pants become popular?! STOP now! If you have rubber pants head straight to your local tire shop and see what you can get for them...I'm sure they can make you a nice lining for your headrest or something!). Three, she still has that mic...yeah, the one that you know is just for show. Four, why the hell am I still writing about this chick? Focus!
Next topic...why right now am nothing less than frustrated with BOTH MySpace and You Tube. I am working on my first music video that I have directed and edited...working on a great turnaround schedule and then---- (insert screech here) MySpace video loader became the vain of my existence for the last 8 (more or less) hours. After consulting a fellow blogger and video uploader, I tried out You Tube. So here I sit, at 10:52pm in my brother's house waiting and waiting for this uploader to say 100%...I'm about to get kicked out of here...I can feel it....come on You Tube damn you! I have to find another site that's faster...this is horrible...